Washington voters choose Republican Benjamin Harrison, but Grover Cleveland wins the U.S. presidency on November 8, 1892.

  • By David Wilma
  • Posted 10/10/2003
  • HistoryLink.org Essay 5568

On November 8, 1892, Washington voters choose Republicans Benjamin Harrison (1833-1901) as president and John H. McGraw (1850-1910) as governor, but Grover Cleveland (1837-1908) wins the presidency. Republicans have a majority in the state legislature, but because they cannot agree with Populists, they fail to elect a U.S. Senator. That seat remains vacant for two years.

The results for selected races were as follows:

  • Benjamin Harrison (R) - 36,470
  • Grover Cleveland (D) - 29,844
  • James Weaver (Populist) - 19,093

  • John H. McGraw (R) - 33,228
  • Henry J. Snively (D) - 28,948


Edgar I. Stewart, Washington: Northwest Frontier (New York: Lewis Historical Publishing Co., 1957), 178-179.

Licensing: This essay is licensed under a Creative Commons license that encourages reproduction with attribution. Credit should be given to both HistoryLink.org and to the author, and sources must be included with any reproduction. Click the icon for more info. Please note that this Creative Commons license applies to text only, and not to images. For more information regarding individual photos or images, please contact the source noted in the image credit.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License
Major Support for HistoryLink.org Provided By: The State of Washington | Patsy Bullitt Collins | Paul G. Allen Family Foundation | Museum Of History & Industry | 4Culture (King County Lodging Tax Revenue) | City of Seattle | City of Bellevue | City of Tacoma | King County | The Peach Foundation | Microsoft Corporation, Other Public and Private Sponsors and Visitors Like You