Congress creates Territory of Oregon on August 14, 1848.

  • By Walt Crowley
  • Posted 2/19/2003
  • Essay 5245
See Additional Media

On August 14, 1848, Congress establishes the Territorial Government of Oregon. The United States had enjoyed sovereignty over the region, which included present-day Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, since 1846. In 1843, local residents had declared their own "provisional government."

The federal government was spurred to formalize a territorial government by the deaths of Presbyterian missionary Dr. Marcus Whitman (1802-1847), his wife, and 11 male settlers, killed by members of the Cayuse tribe in an attack on the Whitman Mission near Walla Walla on November 29, 1847. (Another manĀ is believed to have drowned after escaping the initial attack.)


Edmond S. Meany, History of the State of Washington (New York: The Macmillan Co., 1909); Dictionary of Oregon History ed. by Howard McKinley Corning (Portland, OR: Binfords & Mort, 1956).
Note: This essay was modified on July 12, 2014.

Licensing: This essay is licensed under a Creative Commons license that encourages reproduction with attribution. Credit should be given to both and to the author, and sources must be included with any reproduction. Click the icon for more info. Please note that this Creative Commons license applies to text only, and not to images. For more information regarding individual photos or images, please contact the source noted in the image credit.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License
Major Support for Provided By: The State of Washington | Patsy Bullitt Collins | Paul G. Allen Family Foundation | Museum Of History & Industry | 4Culture (King County Lodging Tax Revenue) | City of Seattle | City of Bellevue | City of Tacoma | King County | The Peach Foundation | Microsoft Corporation, Other Public and Private Sponsors and Visitors Like You