Library Search Results

Your search found :
and
Per Page:

King County Landmarks: Newcastle Cemetery (1879), Newcastle

Address: south of 69th Way off 129th Avenue SE, Newcastle. Few structures remain today which evoke suburban Newcastle's origins as a mining center. Discovered in 1863, by 1883 the Newcastle mines prod...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Norman Bridge (1950), Middle Fork Snoqualmie River, North Bend

Address: at the crossing of 428th Avenue, in Three Forks Park, North Bend. The 295-foot long Norman Bridge, spanning the Middle Fork of the Snoqualmie River near North Bend, is the only remaining exam...

Read More

King County Landmarks: North Bend Masonic Hall (1912), North Bend

Address: 119 North Bend Way, North Bend. The North Bend Masonic Hall is located in the heart of downtown North Bend. The two-story concrete building was designed with a ground store commercial space ...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Northern Pacific Railway Steam Rotary Snowplow No. 10 (1907), Snoqualmie

Address: Railroad Right-of-Way, Snoqualmie. The heavy snowfalls in the Cascade mountain range posed a challenge to providing year-round train service through the mountains. Rotary snowplows, invente...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Oddfellows/Eagles Hall (1895), Carnation

Address: 3940 Tolt Avenue, Carnation. The original Oddfellows (later Eagles) Hall, built by I.O.O.F. Lodge No. 148, has been an integral part of community life in Carnation since its construction in 1...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Olof and Mathilda Olson House and Barn (1907, 1909), Maple Valley

Address: 24206 SE 216th Street, Maple Valley. The Olof and Mathilda Olson House sits on a plateau above the Cedar River about a mile east of Maple Valley. The Olsons purchased their 80-acre parcel in...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Olson Farm (ca. 1874), Auburn

Address: 28728 Green River Road S, Auburn. Located on a fertile shelf of land adjacent to the Green River known as Olson Canyon, the Olson Farm was initially developed by Swedish immigrants Alfred and...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Pacific Coast Coal Company Administration Building (1927), Maple Valley

Address: 18825 SE Maple Valley Highway, Maple Valley. The Pacific Coast Coal Company administration building is the only intact structure associated with the once-active coal industry in the Cedar Riv...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Pacific Coast Coal Company House No. 75 (Baima House) (ca. 1880), Newcastle

Address: 7210 138th Avenue SE, Newcastle. Coal mining first began in this region in the 1860s in Newcastle, a company town named for the famous English coal city. Once part of a bustling town located ...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Prescott-Harshman House (1904), Fall City

Address: 33429 Redmond-Fall City Road, Fall City. The Prescott-Harshman house was built in 1904 on a prominent corner lot facing the main road through Fall City. Its elegant porch, tall, narrow window...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Quaale Log House (1903), Carnation

Address: 10101 W. Snoqualmie Valley Road NE, Carnation. The first Euro-American settlers in the Snoqualmie Valley typically built log houses for temporary shelter until they could build more elaborate...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Red Brick Road/James Mattson Road (1865/1913), vicinity of Redmond

Address: 196th Avenue NE between Union Hill Road & Redmond-Fall City Road, vicinity of Redmond. The Mattson Road contains the longest stretch of exposed historic red brick highway in King County. In 1...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Reinig Road Sycamore Corridor (1929), Snoqualmie

Address: Between 396th Drive SE and SE 79th Street, Snoqualmie. The Sycamore trees growing on both sides of Reinig Road are among the last vestiges of the former company town of Snoqualmie Falls, whic...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Reynolds Farm and Indian Agency (ca. 1880), Auburn

Address: 16816 S 277th Street, Auburn. The Reynolds Farm and Indian Agency is named for Charles A. Reynolds, who worked for the Office of Indian Affairs as the “farmer-in-charge&aci...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Schwartz-Bell House (1930), Vashon Island

Address: 20233 81st Avenue SW, Ellisport, Vashon Island. The B. I. Schwartz family settled in the Vashon community of Ellisport in 1930 in hopes that the fresh air would be better for their children's...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Skykomish Historic Commercial District

Address: Vicinity of Railroad Avenue, Skykomish. The four block long Skykomish Historic Commercial District encompasses the heart of the historic railroading community of Skykomish. The 11 contributin...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Skykomish Masonic Hall (1924), Skykomish

Address: 108 Old Cascade Highway, Skykomish. The Masonic Hall in Skykomish is a two and one-half story wood frame building, built facing the historic highway route through town. Construction of the ...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Smith-Baldwin House (1912), Vashon Island

Address: 11408 Cedarhurst Road, Vashon Island. The Smith-Baldwin house, located on a low bank waterfront lot on the northwest end of Vashon Island, was designed in 1912 for Elizabeth N. Smith by noted...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Snoqualmie Historic Commercial District (1889-1941), Snoqualmie

Address: Railroad Avenue, Snoqualmie. Platted in 1889 in anticipation of the arrival of the Seattle, Lakeshore & Eastern Railroad in the upper Snoqualmie Valley, the Town of Snoqualmie served as a com...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Thomas and Etta McNair House (ca. 1890), Burton, Vashon Island

Address: 22915 107th Avenue SW, Burton, Vashon Island. In 1884, Thomas and Etta McNair began living on and improving their land claim near Burton on Vashon Island. Every Monday, Thomas McNair commuted...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Town of Selleck (1908-1939), Kangley vicinity

Address: North of Kangley on Kangley Road which turns into 348th Street. In 1908, the Pacific States Lumber Company built the town of Selleck around a new lumber mill located northeast of Black Diamon...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Vashon Hardware Store (1890), Vashon Center, Vashon Island

Address: 17601 99th Avenue SW, Vashon Center, Vashon Island. Located on a prominent corner at the main intersection in Vashon Center, the hardware store has served Vashon residents for many years. Con...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Vashon Odd Fellows Hall/Blue Heron Art Center (1912), Vashon, Vashon Island

Address: 19500 99th Avenue SW, Vashon, Vashon Island. Francis Sherman constructed the Odd Fellows Hall in 1912 with labor and materials donated by members of the Lodge. The building, which faces Vasho...

Read More

King County Landmarks: Vincent Schoolhouse (1905), Carnation

Address: 8010 W Snoqualmie Valley Road NE, Carnation. The small farming community of Vincent is located on the western side of the Snoqualmie Valley south of Carnation. In 1905, residents built a scho...

Read More