Fred Hutchinson James Delmage Ross Dixy Lee Ray George W. Bush Hazel Wolf Henry M Jackson Warren G. Magnuson Home
Search Encyclopedia
Advanced Search
Featured Essay
Home About Us Contact Us Education Bookstore Tourism Advanced Search
7100 essays now available      
Donation system not supported by Safari     Donate Subscribe


Cyberpedias Cyberpedias
Timeline Essays Timeline Essays
People's Histories People's Histories

Selected Collections
Cities & Towns Cities & Towns
County Thumbnails Counties
Biographies Biographies
Interactive Cybertours Interactive Cybertours
Slide Shows Slideshows
Public Ports Public Ports
Audio & Video Audio & Video

Research Shortcuts

Map Searches
Alphabetical Search
Timeline Date Search
Topic Search


Book of the Fortnight
Audio/Video Enhanced
History Bookshelf
Klondike Gold Rush Database
Duvall Newspaper Index
Wellington Scrapbook

More History

Washington FAQs
Washington Milestones
Honor Rolls
Columbia Basin
Walla Walla
Roads & Rails

Timeline Library

< Browse to Previous Essay | Browse to Next Essay >

Dayton is re-incorporated on November 10, 1881. Essay 9585 : Printer-Friendly Format

On November 10, 1881, the city of Dayton, county seat of Columbia County, is re-incorporated. The Washington Territorial Legislature initially incorporated it  under the Act of 1877. However, this incorporation was nullified when a lawsuit over taxation was filed by town namesake Jesse N. Day.

Jesse Day's Town

Pioneer settler and storekeeper Jesse N. Day and his wife, Elizabeth, donated and platted land for the town of Dayton on November 23, 1871.

Until 1875, Dayton was part of Walla Walla County, which stretched across Southeastern Washington to the Idaho border. When Columbia County was established in 1875, Dayton became county seat.

It wasn’t until 1876 that residents of Dayton attempted to establish a town government. Citizens submitted a petition for incorporation, bearing the names of 62 people, to the board of Columbia County commissioners on May 5, 1876.


Commissioners approved the town’s incorporation and set a special election for May 22, 1876, to select five trustees. Records of the original trustees elected were lost, but the five trustees who succeeded them the following year were J. F. Martin, Perry Steen, George Eckler, William Matzger, and W.S. Strong.

Dayton was later incorporated as a city by the legislature of Washington Territory under the Act of 1877 and the election of city officers took place in July 1878 with Dennis C. Guernsey chosen as mayor.

However, questions as to whether the city of Dayton was legally formed were raised by town founder and namesake Jesse N. Day when he refused to pay some $200 in taxes assessed by the City. Day brought suit against Columbia County Treasurer H. H. Wolfe after Wolfe seized some of his property as payment for the delinquent taxes.

Day was awarded the decision. In another lawsuit in 1880, it was again found that Dayton was illegally incorporated. In March of that year, Judge S. C. Wingard issued an opinion that Dayton was still a town and the old town government was restored and retained until residents petitioned for a new city charter.

The city of Dayton was finally incorporated on November 10, 1881. The new city government took effect on January 1, 1882. The city’s first officers included Mayor Oliver C. White and councilmen James L. Smith, George E. Church, Lewis B. Harris, J. E. Edmiston, John Brining, and Warren A. Belcher.

F. A. Shaver, An Illustrated History of Southeastern Washington (Spokane: Washington Western Historical Publishing Company, 1906); 349-356; W. D. Lyman, Lyman’s History of Old Walla Walla County, Vol. 1 (Chicago: S. J. Clarke Publishing Company. 1918); “Incorporations of Washington Cities and Towns by Year,” Municipal Research and Services Center of Washington accessed September 18, 2010 (; online encyclopedia of Washington State History, “Columbia County -- Thumbnail History” (by Phil Dougherty); “Dayton -- 80 Next November: Keeps Getting Better but Not Bigger,” Spokesman-Review, September 30, 1951, pp. 8-9.

Travel through time (chronological order):
< Browse to Previous Essay | Browse to Next Essay >

Related Topics: Cities & Towns |

Licensing: This essay is licensed under a Creative Commons license that encourages reproduction with attribution. Credit should be given to both and to the author, and sources must be included with any reproduction. Click the icon for more info. Please note that this Creative Commons license applies to text only, and not to images. For more information regarding individual photos or images, please contact the source noted in the image credit.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

Major Support for Provided By: The State of Washington | Patsy Bullitt Collins | Paul G. Allen Family Foundation | Museum Of History & Industry | 4Culture (King County Lodging Tax Revenue) | City of Seattle | City of Bellevue | City of Tacoma | King County | The Peach Foundation | Microsoft Corporation, Other Public and Private Sponsors and Visitors Like You

This essay made possible by:
Washington State Department of Commerce

Dayton, Columbia County, 1886
Courtesy Whitman College and Northwest Archives

Home About Us Contact Us Education Bookstore Tourism Advanced Search is the first online encyclopedia of local and state history created expressly for the Internet. (SM) is a free public and educational resource produced by History Ink, a 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt corporation.
Contact us by phone at 206.447.8140, by mail at Historylink, 1411 4th Ave. Suite 803, Seattle WA 98101 or email