Captain George Vancouver Julia Butler Hansen Carlos Bulosan Ernestine Anderson Kurt Cobain Bill Gates & Paul Allen Home
Search Encyclopedia
Advanced Search
Featured Essay
Home About Us Contact Us Education Bookstore Tourism Advanced Search
7099 essays now available      
Donation system not supported by Safari     Donate Subscribe


Cyberpedias Cyberpedias
Timeline Essays Timeline Essays
People's Histories People's Histories

Selected Collections
Cities & Towns Cities & Towns
County Thumbnails Counties
Biographies Biographies
Interactive Cybertours Interactive Cybertours
Slide Shows Slideshows
Public Ports Public Ports
Audio & Video Audio & Video

Research Shortcuts

Map Searches
Alphabetical Search
Timeline Date Search
Topic Search


Book of the Fortnight
Audio/Video Enhanced
History Bookshelf
Klondike Gold Rush Database
Duvall Newspaper Index
Wellington Scrapbook

More History

Washington FAQs
Washington Milestones
Honor Rolls
Columbia Basin
Walla Walla
Roads & Rails

Timeline Library

< Browse to Previous Essay | Browse to Next Essay >

William Howard Taft and Republicans win general elections in Washington on November 3, 1908. Essay 5578 : Printer-Friendly Format

On November 3, 1908, Washington voters choose Republicans William Howard Taft (1857-1930) for president and Samuel G. Cosgrove (1841-1909) as governor.

Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919) honored a pledge not to run for a third term as president (he succeeded to the office in 1901 and was elected in his own right in 1904). He allowed the Republican Party to nominate Taft. Taft's opponent was Populist Democrat William Jennings Bryan (1860-1925).

Taft carried Washington state with approximately 105,000 votes against Bryan's 58,000.

Washington's One-Day Governor

Samuel Cosgrove beat Democrat John Pattison, but Cosgrove served just one day in office after he was inaugurated. He went to California for health reasons and died at Paso Robles on March 28, 1909, earning him the title "Washington's One-Day Governor" (Stewart).

Cosgrove was succeeded by Lieutenant Governor Marion E. Hay (1865-1933). Under Hay's administration the state's pioneering Workman's Compensation Act was passed along with woman suffrage.

Edgar I. Stewart, Washington: Northwest Frontier (New York: Lewis Historical Publishing Co., 1957), 203.

Travel through time (chronological order):
< Browse to Previous Essay | Browse to Next Essay >

Related Topics: Government & Politics |

Licensing: This essay is licensed under a Creative Commons license that encourages reproduction with attribution. Credit should be given to both and to the author, and sources must be included with any reproduction. Click the icon for more info. Please note that this Creative Commons license applies to text only, and not to images. For more information regarding individual photos or images, please contact the source noted in the image credit.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

Major Support for Provided By: The State of Washington | Patsy Bullitt Collins | Paul G. Allen Family Foundation | Museum Of History & Industry | 4Culture (King County Lodging Tax Revenue) | City of Seattle | City of Bellevue | City of Tacoma | King County | The Peach Foundation | Microsoft Corporation, Other Public and Private Sponsors and Visitors Like You

This essay made possible by:
Henry M. Jackson Foundation

President William Howard Taft (1857-1930), 1909
Courtesy Library of Congress

Home About Us Contact Us Education Bookstore Tourism Advanced Search is the first online encyclopedia of local and state history created expressly for the Internet. (SM) is a free public and educational resource produced by History Ink, a 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt corporation.
Contact us by phone at 206.447.8140, by mail at Historylink, 1411 4th Ave. Suite 803, Seattle WA 98101 or email